New releases: ‘Everyday Matters’ and ‘Seven Questions’

Everyday Matters, edited by Vanessa Grossman and Ciro Miguel. With photos by Ciro Miguel.

Beatriz Colomina and Mark Wigley write in their foreword: “That which literally happens every day is so ever present, ever repeated, that it paradoxically goes unnoticed. The everyday is in this sense environmental, like water to fish––which is precisely what makes it so crucial to architects but also what torments them.”

Featuring contributions by architectural designers, historians, and theoreticians, as well as scholars in fields such as cultural geography, environmental anthropology, political philosophy, and sociology, this book chronicles how the everyday has influenced contemporary approaches to architecture and urbanism, triggering the rise of a new ethics and aesthetics.

Contributions by Caitlin DeSilvey, Geisa Garibaldi (Concreto Rosa), Vanessa Grossman, Anna Heringer, Andrés Jaque (Office for Political Innovation), GuillermoLopez and Anna Puigjaner (MAIO), Charlotte Malterre Barthes, Markus Miessen (Studio Miessen), Ciro Miguel, Mouraria 53, DjamiaRibeiro, Renzo Taddei, Ilze Wolff and Heinrich Wolff (Wolff Architects).


Seven Questions, edited by Jan De Vylder, Annamaria Prandi /Studio Jan de Vylder

Seven Questions is the outcome of a series of online lunch lectures at ETH Zürich, organized by studio Jan de Vylder during the Corona lockdown. The briefing for the speakers was as simple as it was tricky: Talk about seven questions that you consider relevant without answering them. The results were as diverse as the contributors: 68 experts from architecture, design, history, theory, sociology, art, etc. gave an insight in the creative processes that drive their work.

With contributions by Tom Avermaete, Tatiana Bilbao, Petra Blaisse, Philippe Block, Lilitt Bollinger, Roger Boltshauser, Emanuel Christ, Irina Davidovici, Fredi Fischli, Joseph Grima, Nikolaus Hirsch, Bijoy Jain, Momoyo Kaijima, Charlotte Malterre-Barthes, Elli Mosayebi, Freek Persyn, Eva Prats, Alice Rawsthorn, Marianna Rentzou, Philip Ursprung, Christophe Van Gerrewey, Inge Vinck, Lori Waxman, and many more.